Our Lawyers

Ashkhan Candey

Ashkhan Candey

Managing Partner

With business nous Ashkhan provides legal and commercial direction to his clients and has a long track record of successive wins and major settlements in the High Court and International Arbitrations.

Read more | Contact acandey@candey.com

Andrew Dunn

Andrew Dunn

Partner

Andrew is a specialist in shareholder disputes, company law and insolvency. He has acted for clients and teams all over the world (including the US, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan, Europe, Equatorial Guinea and the Caribbean).  He is described in the Legal 500 directory as “very strategically adept“.

Read more | Contact adunn@candey.com

Nigel McEwen

Nigel McEwen

Chairman & Partner

A founding Partner of CANDEY, Nigel was Managing Partner & Chairman of Tarlo Lyons during the time when that firm experienced dynamic growth. A highly experienced commercial litigator by background, Nigel has wide knowledge of the commercial legal sector and, together with members of the Management board, leads the strategy of the firm

Read more | Contact nmcewen@candey.com

Richard Singleton

Richard Singleton

Partner

Richard is an experienced litigator who consistently achieves success for clients across a broad range of commercial disputes. He acts primarily for clients in the High Court and international arbitrations, and has extensive experience in relation to injunctions, IP & IT, shareholder and share sale disputes, civil fraud and trust claims, professional negligence and restraint of trade.

Read more | Contact rsingleton@candey.com

Leo Nabarro

Leo Nabarro

Partner

A litigator focused on the big picture and clients’ objectives, Leo acts for a number of entrepreneurs and corporations, advising on contractual and corporate disputes. Leo studied at University in London and Paris and trained at Edwin Coe LLP. He is fluent in French.

Read more | Contact lnabarro@candey.com

James Collins

James Collins

Partner

James is an accomplished Solicitor Advocate with a wealth of experience in advising clients from a range of sectors on complex and high value commercial disputes. He has extensive familiarity with proceedings brought both in the English High Court and under a variety of institutional arbitration rules.

Read more | Contact jcollins@candey.com

Yuri Botiuk

Yuri Botiuk

Partner

Yuri is a specialist in complex litigation and arbitration across multiple jurisdictions including Russia, Ukraine, Kazakhstan (and other CIS countries) and the Middle East, Africa for both corporations and individuals.

Read more | Contact ybotiuk@candey.com

Laurence Slattery

Laurence Slattery

Partner

Laurence is a plain speaking commercial lawyer. Laurence trained and worked at Linklaters and subsequently moved to Baker & McKenzie. Laurence specialises in commercial technology.

Read more | Contact lslattery@candey.com

Audrius Zakarauskas

Audrius Zakarauskas

Partner

Formerly a partner at Quinn Emmanuel, Audrius is experienced in a broad range of disputes, both in commercial litigation and arbitration.

Read more | Contact azakarauskas@candey.com

Mei Wong

Mei Wong

Solicitor

Mei has a broad range of experience in general commercial litigation and alternative dispute resolution, in particular international arbitration. Mei has acted for high profile individuals as well as in company related disputes; including minority shareholder and director disputes.

Read more | Contact mwong@candey.com

Jonathan Child

Jonathan Child

Solicitor

Jonathan acts for a range of clients from private individuals to major corporations, across a variety of sectors.  Jonathan specialises in handling large scale commercial disputes, such as; breach of contract claims, professional negligence actions, and shareholder disputes, often with an international element.

Read more | Contact jchild@candey.com

Sonia Kenawy

Sonia Kenawy

Solicitor

Sonia has a broad practice focussing on commercial litigation and international arbitration. Sonia’s experience covers a range of industry sectors such as the energy, financial services, real estate, infrastructure and insurance sectors.

Read more | Contact skenawy@candey.com

Sonia Bamford

Sonia Bamford

Trainee Solicitor

Sonia is a commercially aware litigator who is client focused at all stages of litigation. She acts for a range of clients from private individuals to large corporate bodies both in the UK and abroad. Sonia studied law at St Catharine’s College, Cambridge and was called to the bar in 2017.

Read more | Contact sbamford@candey.com

Ben Norton

Ben Norton

Paralegal

Ben has experience of the full range of work undertaken at CANDEY, with a focus on commercial litigation. After studying English at Magdelene College, Cambridge University Ben was awarded a distinction on the GDL (coming third in the year out of 188 students) and outstanding on the BPTC.

Contact bnorton@candey.com

Maninder Goraya

Maninder Goraya

Paralegal

Maninder graduated with First Class Honours in Law from the University of Kent and completed the LPC at BPP Law School.

Contact mgoraya@candey.com

James Partridge

James Partridge

Paralegal

James has completed the BPTC and GDL with Distinction at the University of Law.  Prior to law, he was a professional saxophonist and toured internationally with the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra.

Contact jpartridge@candey.com

Gerard Farara

Gerard Farara

Paralegal

Gerard completed his legal studies and undertook the BPTC at City Law School in 2017/18. Gerard has prior experience in the range of work undertaken at CANDEY having previously worked in the BVI office of offshore commercial firms.

Contact gfarara@candey.com

Hossein Sharafi

Hossein Sharafi

Paralegal

Hossein is a Scholar of Keble College, Oxford and the recipient of a Princess Royal Scholarship.  Prior to joining CANDEY, Hossein was at UNCITRAL, the International Trade Law Division of the United Nations.

Contact hsharafi@candey.com

Cettrin Divonin

Cettrin Divonin

Paralegal

Cettrin joined the firm in 2015 as an apprentice and undertakes her academic legal studies on a part-time basis.  She has been involved in numerous cases, assisting with trial preparation and supporting the fee earners with day to day litigation.

Contact cdivonin@candey.com